Access the latest Washington Report: Read More

Iowa Finance Authority Awards More Than $6.4 Million to 27 Local Housing Trust Funds

Published on January 15, 2020 by Iowa Finance Authority
Iowa Finance Authority Awards More Than $6.4 Million to 27 Local Housing Trust Funds

State Housing Trust Fund Grants to Spur Affordable Housing

DES MOINES, IA – The Iowa Finance Authority recently announced the award of more than $6.4 million in grants to 27 Local Housing Trust Funds to support local affordable housing initiatives. The grant awards are made available through the Local Housing Trust Fund program and are expected to assist more than 2,500 families.

“Local Housing Trust Funds serve all 99 counties and are a critical vehicle to ensuring leaders can make local housing priorities a reality,” said Iowa Finance Authority Executive Director Debi Durham. “Not only do Local Housing Trust Funds make a very real difference in the lives of thousands of Iowa families but they also leverage millions in other contributions, showcasing the shared commitment to advancing affordable housing throughout our state.”

The grant funds will be used for initiatives such as preserving aging housing stock, subsidizing local rental and down payment assistance programs, providing low-interest loans or grants to assist Iowans with home rehabilitation, financing construction of new single-family housing for low-income Iowans and supporting housing for persons with disabilities and homeless assistance programs.

The State Housing Trust Fund was created by the Iowa Legislature in 2003. The awards announced today will leverage an additional $2.7 million in other financing or $.42 for every dollar of Local Housing Trust Fund program funding. Since its inception, the program has provided $77.2 million in affordable housing assistance to benefit more than 26,200 Iowa families.

The State Housing Trust Fund helps ensure decent, safe and affordable housing for Iowans through two programs. The Local Housing Trust Fund Program receives at least 60 percent of the SHTF allocation to provide grants for organizations certified by the Iowa Finance Authority as a Local Housing Trust Fund.

The remaining funding goes to the Project-Based Housing Program, which aids in the development of affordable single-family and multifamily housing. The Iowa Finance Authority administers both programs and provides technical assistance to housing-related organizations.

The Iowa Legislature created the Iowa Finance Authority in 1975 to undertake programs to assist in the attainment of housing for low-and moderate-income Iowans. Since then, the Iowa Finance Authority’s role has grown to include a wide range of affordable housing, water quality and beginning farmer programs.

FY 2019 Local Housing Trust Fund Program Awards
AHEAD Regional Housing Trust Fund Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren and Wapello Counties $246,599  

Chris Bowers: 641.684.6551

Central Iowa Housing Trust Fund Boone, Jasper, Marion and Warren Counties $285,548 Andrew Collings: 515.334.0075
Chariton Valley Regional Housing Trust Fund, Inc. Appanoose, Lucas, Monroe and Wayne Counties $185,559  

Rachel Mathews: 641.856.2744

City of Dubuque Housing Trust Fund City of Dubuque $129,755 Alexis Steger: 563.589.4239
Council of Governments Housing, Inc. Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie and Sac Counties $220,937  

Karla Janning: 712.792.9914

Dallas County Local Housing Trust Fund, Inc Dallas County $167,828  

Christine Gordon: 515.273.0770

East Central Iowa Housing Trust Fund Benton, Iowa, Jones and Washington Counties $230,534  

Tracey Achenbach: 319.365.9941 x139

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Corporation Trust Fund Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, (excluding the City of Dubuque) and Jackson Counties $284,181


Carl Reimer: 563.556.4166
Great River Housing, Inc. Des Moines, Henry, Lee and Louisa Counties $252,333 Sara Hecox: 319.753.4311


Heart of Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund Hamilton and Webster Counties $201,002 Vickie Reeck: 515.576.4551 x1243
Homeward Housing Trust Fund Calhoun, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Winnebago, Worth and Wright Counties  $260,437 Cheryl Rhead: 515.532.6477
Housing Fund for Linn County Linn County $305,665 Tracey Achenbach: 319.365.9941 x139
Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County Johnson County $229,338 Ellen McCabe: 319.358.0212


Iowa Northland Regional Housing Council Local Housing Trust Fund Black Hawk (excluding the cities of Waterloo and Cedar Falls), Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw and Grundy Counties $252,996 Brian Schoon: 319.235.0311
NIACOG Housing Trust Fund, Inc. Cerro Gordo and Floyd Counties $207,431 Myrtle Nelson: 641.423.0491 x16
Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek Counties $229,763 Sarah Snitker: 563.864.7551

Northwest Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund, Inc.

Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola and Sioux Counties $273,539 Kristin Larsen: 712.262.7225 x139
Polk County Housing Trust Fund Polk County $514,108


Eric Burmeister: 515.282.3233
Pottawattamie County Housing Trust Fund, Inc. Pottawattamie County $193,500 Don Gross:

402.444.6866 x230

Region 6 Housing Trust Fund Hardin, Marshall, Poweshiek and Tama Counties  $240,120


Marty Wymore: 641.752.3978
Scott County Housing Council Muscatine and Scott Counties $347,571


Leslie Kilgannon: 563.323.0420
Sioux City Housing Trust Fund, Inc. City of Sioux City $ 153,550 Michelle Brady: 712.279.6245
Southern Iowa COG Housing Trust Fund Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Taylor and Union Counties $215,659 Tim Ostroski: 641.782.8491
Southwest Iowa Housing Trust Fund, Inc. Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie (excluding the city of Council Bluffs) and Shelby Counties $235,712 Tammy Debord: 712.243.4196 x234
Story County Housing Trust Fund Story County $190,065 Andrew Collings:


Waterloo Housing Trust Fund City of Waterloo $139,986 Brian Schoon: 319.235.0311
Western Iowa Community Improvement Regional Housing Trust Fund Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth and Woodbury (excluding the city of Sioux City) Counties $219,234 Amanda Harper: 712.279.6286